#JalapenoWatch2017

I am notorious for killing plants. My mom once gifted me a cute, tiny succulent for my desk. Within three months its leaves and stems had shrived and fallen off. Needless to say, I receive fake plants from her now.

Earlier this spring I made the decision to start a garden, perhaps, with some lofty goals of yielding a harvest that would supplement my home cooking. While I don’t consider myself picky about my vegetable consumption I ended up with three types of plants – mammoth jalapeno peppers, habanero peppers and cilantro.

First up was clearing our the small garden in the back leftover from the previous tenants. The image on the left is two year growth – there were weeds, trees, dead clippings worthy of a compost pile and an unopened bag of soil from the last failed attempt at starting a garden.

View this post on Instagram

Before and after. Gonna try this garden thing.

A post shared by Elizabeth (@elizmgeorge) on

View this post on Instagram

My little jalapeño plants are flowering!

A post shared by Elizabeth (@elizmgeorge) on

And today, signs of life! This little japaleno will one day grow up to be a delicious jalapeno popper.

Leave a comment